Swift Rallycross Championships

Swift Rallycross Championships

All Star Line up for Lydden Hill

The Swift Camp was buzzing with speculation as to who would take the podium for the opening round of the Championship at Lydden Hill.  With the 2012 season delivering seven different winners over the eight rounds,  Add to the mix European Rallycross Championship Star Timmy Hansen, Monster Energy Athlete, Drifting Dynamo  Steve 'Baggsy' Biagioni and Belgian Rallycross Driver Kris Fruru, the race was on.


Front runner for the majority of 2012 Johny Bean had aimed to return to Lydden strong to take on Current Champion and friend Chris Mullen however suffered an engine failure in practice which ended his on-track action for this event.


Timmy Hansen who made the trip over from Sweden with his younger brother Kevin who contests the MSA Swift Junior Championship took the opportunity to hire a Peter Gwynne Motorsport Swift to get some practice on the Kent Circuit before is return for the Opening round of the ERC in April.


Another Guest appearance was seen by Monster Energy Athlete Steve 'Baggsy' Biagioni who is more commonly seen on the drifting circuit. Baigioni was out in the Monster Energy Swift which will see a selection of Monster Athletes from different disciplines take to the track throughout the season.


Hansen raring to go for the first heat, challenged himself further when a jump start took him to the back of the grid.   Unphased Hansen set about working his way through the pack to take the overall heat win. 


Graham Rodemark proved he was focused to being a strong championship contender for 2013 literally flying round the Kent circuit in the new look Autopoint Swift.

Newcomers to rallycross Phil Sherwood and Rob Maynard both had a successful first round, coping with the challenging track conditions put in clean performances with Sherwood securing a fifth place finish in the final.

2012 Champion Chris Mullen had a frustrating weekend battling with rear suspension issues and first corner friction in the final saw the Leeds lad just miss out on a podium.  It was Ovenden and Rodemark who stole the show with their close with their all action race to the line with Rodemark taking the flag and Timmy Hansen taking third.

MSA Swift Junior Championship

With the junior swift drivers now all having a seasons racing under their belts, they were tested further running first on the tricky wet track.   The conditions caught out 2012 runner up Charlie Bean when a spin saw him unable to rejoin the race, Kevin Hansen wasted no time to show how he had been......and took the win for the first heat.

Reining champion James 'JJ' Ross had a change of car to the 2013 season now piloting the Black Lydden Hill Swift and practice and first heats on Saturday were spent setting the car up.

Sundays racing continued in the same vein, with Hansen showing consistency with his lines and a confident smoothness that give him the win for all 3 heats and comfortably cruised in to take the trophy in the final.




Blog Stats

  • Total posts(91)
  • Total comments(0)

Forgot your password?