Swift Rallycross Championships

Swift Rallycross Championships


Picking up where he left off at Croft last season, reigning Suzuki Swift Sport rallycross champion Tristan Ovenden won the first round of the 2015 championship, held at Croft Circuit in Yorkshire.

Tristan Ovenden takes the win


Ovenden qualified on pole position for the all-important A final and won the race to the first corner, from where he didn’t look back; leading every lap of the final. The Kent driver didn’t have it easy though, B final winner Nathan Heathcote made an incredible start to the race and climbed to second on the first lap. At the end of lap two, he made a move for the lead around the outside of Ovenden but ran wide, promoting Darren Scott into second. Scott chased Ovenden for the remainder of the race, but couldn’t quite get close enough to make a move. Heathcote finished an impressive third, having started in eighth on the grid. Driving his orange Swift affectionately known as Maud, Rob Maynard ran on his own in the final and finished fourth.


Former Junior Swift racer Jake Taylor, Jake Harris and Jack Brown came together on the first lap of the A final. Brown fought his way back from last position to finish fifth, with Taylor in sixth on his debut for Autopoint SE and loving his senior Swift. Harris fought back too, and climbed to seventh when Adam Weaver had a half-spin on the final lap. The BTCC Power Maxed team owner had run in fifth for much of the race and well on the pace, he will no doubt be troubling the podium places soon.

Nathan Heathcote taking 3rd


The B final had to be started twice; on the first attempt Andy Hawkes rolled his Swift in the first corner gravel trap. Jeff Hankin started on pole position alongside Alex Spencer, and it was Spencer who took the lead on lap one before Heathcote seized the lead at the end of the lap and graduation to the A final. Dave Ellis had a frantic race, he was fourth on lap one but climbed to second by the finish, having lost and gained places throughout. Hankin finished third with the recovering Spencer in fourth. Ryan McAdam increased his pace through the day to finish fifth, his lap times dropping throughout.


The championship heads to the Home of Rallycross, Lydden Hill for Round 2 on Bank Holiday Monday - 6th April 2015.


Blog Stats

  • Total posts(91)
  • Total comments(0)

Forgot your password?