Swift Rallycross Championships

Swift Rallycross Championships

Swifts Go Nutts in Ireland


Stonegate Driver Chris Mullen takes his first win the in the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship for Round 3 in Northern Ireland.


Nine Swift Sports and four juniors made the trip across the water for this Bank Holiday weekend meeting at Nutts Corner running with the MDA/BTRDA Clubmans Rallycross Championship. Snigwig Driver Johny Bean was on the pace right from the start if the day winning the first heats followed by Chris Mullen and Tony Lynch. 

The circuit proved technique was paramount with limited overtaking opportunities the drivers needed to be on the pace at every second waiting for any mistake for the opportunity to pass.

Second heats proved the same close racing with Bean and Mullen again putting in the fastest times followed this time by Canterbury driver Darren Scott.  Lynch suffered a driveshaft failure in the third heat which dropped him down  the grid for the A final.
Joining the swifts for this round were RX150 drivers Adam and Larry Sargent along with first time rallycrosser Oliver Thomas. Thomas, son of Elfyd Thomas who contested the first two rounds, and brother of Junior Swift Driver Mathew Thomas settled into the swifts well and put in an impressive performance leading the B final until he caught the kerb on the inside of the last corner causing him to roll and allowing Ed Muldoon to take the win.
Mullen got a good start for the final which got him ahead of Bean where he managed to retain the lead to the line putting the Leeds lad back up to 3rd in the championship

Junior Swift Rallycross Championship

The junior championship saw the new addition of Kevin Hansen who only turned 14 six days before the event.  Llandudno driver Mathew Thomas was focused from the start and took a clean sweep taking the win in each heat. 
Thomas’s speed off the line and the limited overtaking opportunities proved frustrating for current Championship leader James Ross and fellow contender Charlie Bean.  Hansen settled in well, gaining his confidence and learning the track.  The final saw him second into the first corner and a missed gear by Thomas was all it took for Hansen to pass and take the chequered flag in his debut 
outing in the  swift.


Round 3 Results

 Sport:  1st Chris Mullen, 2nd Jonathan Bean, 3rd Darren Scott, 4th Tony Lynch 5th James Knight Coney

Juniors: 1st Kevin Hansen, 2nd Mathew Thomas, 3rd Charlie Bean, 4th James Ross

Round 4

The second day of this double-header event in Northern Ireland saw the addition of Autopoint Engineering boss Graham Rodemark who was unable to make the previous day due to work commitments with the Doran Motorsport Team.

First heats got off to a flying start with CJB Motorsport driver Jonathan Bean having a challenge to the first corner which saw his swift airborne finishing on its roof.  Rodemark put in an impressive performance taking the heat win over the rest of the swift field who had driven the track the previous day.

Bean currently top of points table was not going to lose sight of his championship bid and set to work sourcing parts for the Snigwig Swift in the hope to not lose valuable points.

This is where the ‘Swift Family’ came into it’s own!  Friends, family and mechanics from Ramsport and Autopoint who were already running 2 cars each, along with Peter Gwynne Motorsport running 4 cars and the Mullen and Scott families all jumped on the car to help the CJB Motorsport team bring the Swift back to life.The effort put in by everyone saw Bean make the second heat.

Rodemark had a relaxed day just focusing on his driving and not having to run a team of cars as would normally be the case with all other rounds running with the Monster Energy British Rallycross Championship in association with Maktrak and secured pole for the A final as well as picking up fastest time of the day.  Tony Lynch lined up second followed by Chris Mullen and title contender Bean made it onto the back of the grid.

Previous days winner Mullen had an unlucky start when these equally powered cars saw him out wide on the grass and then a touch in the first corner put him to the back of the pack.  Rodemark gave a faultless performance and took the clear win giving him maximum points for the day.  Rodemark commented “ It has been a great day, it has been really strange to only have my racing to focus on.   I have been chatting to Kevin about the track and the lines through corners etc, something I have never done before, normally I just run and jump in my car when I get a shout the swifts are out’.

New driver Oliver Thomas also had a good day despite his roll in the B final on the previous day took fifth in his second ever rallycross event.



The Swift Junior Championship contenders all started day two of this double header keen to develop their skills further on this technical track. Mathew Thomas frustrated with his missed gear the previous day costing him the win was determined this was not going to happen again and current leader James Ross would be looking to get a good start on this circuit with limited overtaking opportunities.

The boys put in a great performance with close racing and heat wins by three different drivers Ross, Hansen and Thomas. The A Final saw Mathew get a good start taking the lead into the first corner, this time the stayed focused under the pressure of seeing Hansen in his mirrors to lead the race from start to finish. With a different driver winning each round so far this season this championship proves how close the racing is.  Round 5 of the championship makes the welcome return to Mallory Park on 22nd July 2012.

Round 4 Results
Sport: 1st Graham Rodemark, 2nd Tony Lynch, 3rd James Knight-Coney, 4th Jonathan Bean, 5th Oliver Thomas

 Juniors:  1st Mathew Thomas, 2nd Kevin Hansen, 3rd James Ross, 4th Charlie Bean

Current Standings
1st Jonathan Bean - 65
2nd Tony Lynch - 64
3rd Chris Mullen - 51
James Knight-Coney
5th Darren Scott
1st James Ross - 70
     Mathew Thomas - 70
3rd Charlie Bean - 67
4th Kevin Hansen  38

Picture courtesy of Stewart McCloy Photosport

Blog Stats

  • Total posts(91)
  • Total comments(0)

Forgot your password?