Swift Rallycross Championships

Swift Rallycross Championships

Three in a Row for Reigning Swift Sport Champion Ovenden

The third round of the Power Maxed Swift Rallycross Championship took place at Pembrey, South Wales where the Swift category provided close racing throughout the day.

Three in a row for reigning champion Tristan Ovenden


Fastest in the opening two heat races, 2011 MSA Junior Swift Champion Aidan Hills sealed pole position for the final, on only his second event since returning to the sport last time out at Lydden Hill. He was joined on the front row by 2014 Swift Champion and current championship leader, Tristan Ovenden and Barnsley racer Jack Brown, who had a strong run through the heat races to qualify third.


Fastest in heats - Former Junior Chamion Aidan Hills


Hills and Ovenden made a great start to lead the field into turn one, where Hills was unfortunate to be spun around. Brown headed straight into Pembrey’s brand new joker lap, while Kent driver’s Darren Scott and Rob Maynard took up the chase of Ovenden, the pair closely followed by SH Racing driver Jake Harris.


Brown - who had been followed into the joker lap by the Autopoint Swift of Jake Taylor - passed Harris on the second lap and then Maynard at the start of lap three, as Ovenden slowly started to pull a small gap at the front of the field.


Impressive performance by Jack Brown taking second


Brown climbed to second when Scott took his joker, Scott coming back onto the main circuit in fourth, but moved to third when Maynard too took his joker lap. Ovenden took his joker on the fifth lap and returned to the lead of the race to claim victory. Brown finished a brilliant second and Maynard pressured Scott all the way to the finish line, Scott holding on to come home third. Former Junior racer Taylor won the B final and had a strong run through the A final to finish fifth while Aiden Hills recovered to finish sixth, with the flamboyant Jake Harris in seventh.


Nathan Heathcote had qualified on the second row of the grid, alongside Scott, but was forced out after contact sustained in the first corner. Andrew Hawkes and former stock hatch racer Andy Pecover had a close and entertaining race for second in the B final, Hawkes coming out on top, while 2015 newcomers Alex Spencer and Jeff Hankin increase in confidence and pace at every event and finished fourth and fifth.


Dave Ellis from Leeds was unlucky to suffer mechanical problems in practice and was forced to retire from the event.

Blog Stats

  • Total posts(91)
  • Total comments(0)

Forgot your password?