top of page

Constantine Winners In Wales!

The MSA Junior Rallycross Championship featured semi-finals for the first in round four at Pembrey, where a record entry of ten drivers took the start, and it was Championship leader Tom Constantine (Richmond) who claimed victory in the single-make category for 1300cc Suzuki Swifts.  

Constantine dropped down the order on the opening lap of the final but fought back to take the lead and storm to his third victory in a row. Marius Solberg Hansen (Norway) again finished on the podium in his first year in the category. Morgan Wroot (Doncaster) scored his first Junior RX podium of the season in third, ahead of Luke Constantine, James Constantine (Darlington), Patrick O’Donovan (Iver), Ben Sayer (Northallerton) and Kristiane Hvaal Engh (Norway). “I got a bit of a rubbish start to be honest and ended up fourth by the first corner. I knew I had a lot of work to do but by the time I took my joker I came out with a clear track,” said Tom Constantine. “It was a really good final, another win is great for my Championship, every little helps!”

In round five, Luke Constantine fended off early pressure from Tom to lead through the first half of the race before his brother dropped back with gearbox problems. Solberg Hansen took a lap one joker to release himself from the traffic and climbed up to second by the end of lap six, picking off those ahead as they took their jokers. Sayer scored his second career podium in third. James Constantine was fifth, Hvaal Engh scored her best result so far in sixth and Tom Constantine maintained his points lead in sixth. Welsh driver Archie Thomas (Llandysul) was seventh but Wroot retired with engine problems. “It was a really good race, I had a close battle with Tom at the start, then he had a problem so I managed to pull away and after that I got my head down to take the joker on the last lap to get the win,” said Luke Constantine. “It’s really good to win here and we got close to winning at Croft last time we were there so I’ll be going for the same at the next round.” 

Join us at the Champonship heads to Croft Circuit on Sunday 29th July 2018.

Featured Posts