top of page


Will Layton takes the win in round four

With round three only the day prior, the Swift Sport drivers were fresh and raring to go for the second day of the double header Toyo Tires British Rallycross Championship meeting. In order to mix it up, the circuit would be run in an anti clockwise direction for the second round of the weekend. Winner from the previous day, Max Weatherley once again set the quickest time on the reversed-circuit, as Dominic Flitney took second and Nikita Abramov made it into the top three qualifiers. Weatherley continued to dominate, clocking a further fastest time in Q2. Young gun Will Layton came in second quickest, with the consistent Flitney once again making the top three. It was Layton who managed to break Weatherley’s stronghold on the event by claiming top honours in Q3, with Weatherley still close behind, but this time it was Layton's fellow junior graduate, Tom Constantine who set third fastest.

Line up for the final

As the drivers prepared for the final, the rain came! Weatherley once again took pole position, whilst Layton lined up in the middle with Flitney far right. Russian driver Abramov qualified fourth to line up second row putting him alongside Junior Champion Constantine who was fifth fastest. Championship newcomer Ed Stallard started sixth, on row three, with Macleod in the middle and Joe Booth securing the last place in the final, which left Ian Flitney as a spectator after suffering gear selector issues in qualifying. Wipers on, lights green and like lightning off the line, Layton was into the lead out of the first corner ahead of Flitney and Weatherley whilst Abramov headed straight to the joker along with Booth and Stallard. Flitney dived into the joker next lap round leaving Weatherley to clock a couple of flying laps to hunt down the leader Layton before opting to joker lap four with Constantine. The crowd waited with baited breathe to see if young gun Layton had done enough out front to maintain the lead as he headed for the joker in lap five. Sure enough, he returned to the main circuit with a clear track ahead. Despite having Weatherley on his rear bumper, the seventeen year old held it together to the line to take his first Rallycross win! After his horrendous roll at Lydden Hill, Abramov gave his best performance to date earning a place on the podium with third, ahead of Flitney and Constantine. Macleod crossed the line, all smiles in sixth followed by Stallard and Booth. With two new winners from the weekend the Championship hots up as it heads back to the 'Home of Rallycross' on Bank Holiday Monday 26th August 2019. Join us there for what is sure to be another action pack day of British Rallycross.